Bowerman Track Club Masters

The Bowerman Track Club is the namesake organization of the track & field visionary and Nike Co-founder, Bill Bowerman.  The BTC Masters Team fields male and female Masters distance runners who embrace the sport of running and strive to be competitive at the regional, national and international level. 

The BTC Masters Teams have won numerous US Cross Country National Championships over the years, and the team's Track athletes are consistently among the strongest performers in Regional, US, and Worldwide Championship racing events.  Team members embrace many different types of running events ranging from 800 meters to road racing, marathon and ultra-distance racing (50K+).  

Steve Prefontaine’ s Motto: “To give anything less than your best is to sacrifice the gift.” is not lost upon our Master’s Team as they continue to compete with passion in this phase of their running careers. 

Vision Statement: BTCM is a perennially preeminent competitive master’s club in the USA. 

Mission Statement: We work together to inspire, support and influence competitive excellence and team camaraderie that results in compelling individual and team performances across all aspects of running.

Diversity, Inclusion and Values: We foster an inclusive, competitive running culture that emphasizes camaraderie, teamwork and achievement in competition. We welcome all types of competitive runners and competitive running events such as ultra-distance, duathlons, triathlons etc. but we prioritize Cross Country, Track and Road Racing as a club.

Membership Information: Want to become a BTCM Team Member? Please email one of our Age Group Captains and let’s get together for a run!

  • Run Date Options:

    • Sunday Run: 12+ miles - 8:30 AM at Dragonfly Cafe 2387 NW Thurman St. Portland, OR 97210

    • Tuesday Track: 6:30 PM at Michael Johnson Track, Nike HQ - Beaverton, OR 97005

    • Tuesday Track: 6:30 PM at Lincoln High School, 1600 SW Salmon St. Portland, 97205

    • Tempo Runs: Wednesdays and Fridays in Portland depending on race schedules

Contact Info

For more information about the Bowerman TC Masters Teams, please contact the following people:
Men’s 40-49 Age Group Team Captains: John Howell & Arhlin Bauman & Josh Gordon
Men’s 50-59 Age Group Team Captains: Eric Hartman & Wes Sealand
Men’s 60+ Age Group Team Captains: Monty Schafer & K.C. Taylor
Women’s Team Captain: - Gail Moebius
President: Michael Gorriaran

Upcoming Masters Events

Current Rosters

MENS 40 Roster

1. Ahrlin Bauman
2. Oscar Bauman
3. Brad Chvatal
4. Greg Coughlan
5. Michael Dom
6. Joshua Gordon
7. Joe Grand
8. Orestes Gutierrez
9. John Howell
10. Michael Lauruhn
11. Scott MacDonald
12. John Mackay
13. Matthew Manke
14. Gregory Michell
15. Matt Reier
16. Duncan Roberts
17. Orin Schumacher
18. Chris Smith
19. Jeff Smith
20. Everett Whiteside
21. Scott Williams

MENS 50 Roster

1. Stephen Bean
2. Mike Blackmore
3. John Clifford
4. Chuck Coats
5. Paul Cummings
6. David Engstrom
7. Matt Farley
8. Dan Franek
9. Dave Frank
10. Craig Godwin
11. Michael Gorriaran
12. Eric Hartmann
13. Thomas Kreuzpeintner
14. Aaron Lance
15. Greg Long
16. Lawrence Merrifield Jr.
17. Kevin Paulk
18. David Rees
19. Wesley Sealand
20. Harry Shaw
21. Marcelo Silva
22. Charlie Simpson
23. Paul Smith
24. James Stansberry
25. Michael Stearns
26. Tim Swanberg
27. David Terris
28. Scott Tucker
29. Eric Williams
30. Chris Cook - 2019/2020
31. Louis Leblanc - 2019/2020
32. Jeff McCormick - 2019/2020

MENS 60 Roster

1. John Barry
2. Mike Berryman
3. Tom Dahlberg
4. Dan Jackson
5. Tim Jantos
6. Steve Kollars
7. Richard Punches
8. Monty Schafer
9. K.C. Taylor
10. Doug Winn
11. Dan Kearns